Worldwide Engagement for Digitizing Biocollections

Team Members

WeDigBio is a success because it’s a community collaboration. In 2021, after five years of a loose leadership structure, the project formalized its leadership structure to ensure wide representation of stakeholder groups and build greater sustainability for the project. Correspondence about WeDigBio is best directed to

WeDigBio Leadership Groups Terms of Reference_4Aug21.pdf


Austin Mast (Florida State University), Chair
Libby Ellwood (University of Florida), Vice Chair
Emily Cain (Smithsonian Institution), Secretary
Samantha Blickhan (Adler Planetarium)
Michael Denslow (University of Florida)
Francois Dusoulier (Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle)
Paul Flemons (Australian Museum)
Siobhan Leachman (Volunteer and Citizen Scientist, New Zealand)
Joe Miller (Global Biodiversity Information Facility)

Working Groups

Formal Education WG Chair: Molly Phillips (University of Florida)
Communications WG Chair: Matt von Konrat (Field Museum)
Virtual Science Festival WG Co-Chairs: Jillian Goodwin (University of Florida) and Austin Mast (Florida State University)

Cyber-Infrastructure Leads

Kevin Love (Denver, Colorado)
Robert Bruhn (Florida State University)

A few of the early organizers of the first WeDigBio events include the following.


WeDigBio is funded by a grant from the National Science Foundation's Advancing Digitization of Biodiversity Collections Program (Cooperative Agreement EF-1115210). Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.